Discovery of Healthy Mind & Body

Laundry

I’m participating in Five Minute Friday.  Write off a word for 5 minutes, share, and comment on others.  Join us!

GO!

Soap, load, start, change, dry, fold, repeat. Soap, load, start, change, dry, fold, repeat.

I thought I was proficient enough at laundry (since I had been doing my own since my teens) that I could sneak in a load or two during the weekdays. Ha, was I mistaken. You know what happens to a wet load of laundry that is forgotten? Yes, a smell. An awful, rotten, moldy smell.

“I must rewash this load,” I say to myself. There is no point in drying a smelly load of laundry. It has lost that fragrant lavender scent I went back and forth toiling between it and fragrance free . It seems like a simple decision to make: smell like flowers or don’t. But in this decision I think about many things like: Are there extra chemicals added to create this scent? If I wash with “no scent” then the Jasmine oils I apply everyday will be much more potent to the senses.

After all these thoughts run wild in my head at 6 am in the morning, I reside to only doing my laundry when it has my full attention, on Sundays. Good old laundry day!

STOP!

Comments on: "Laundry" (4)

  1. Rachael, my weekday laundry episodes are usually disastrous, too! That’s so funny that you feel the same!
    I love you how up put so much thought into the scent. I loved this line: It seems like a simple decision to make: smell like flowers or don’t. I like how you switched from “lavendar” to “flowers” in your writing. It made that line stand out to me, I think.

    Wasn’t this fun??

  2. Because I love laundry SO much I can totally relate to reserving one special day a week for it! Rushing through it on weekdays is so dissatisfying!!

  3. interrobangkjl said:

    I love doing laundry and wish I had a day where that is all I could focus on. I like how you presented laundry kind of monotomously but made it beautiful too. Great post.

  4. Oh, the stinky forgotten load in the washer. I know it well. Great message in your writing too.
    Carrie- laundry is my nemesis!

Leave a Reply

