Discovery of Healthy Mind & Body

Teachers

Teachers

 

Teacher. Facilitator. Guide.

I remember learning in college, that a teacher facilitates the students learning. I didn’t fully understand what that meant until I jumped head first in the field of teaching.

One day in the middle of the week, I had a student bring in the Bible to read. When conferring with him I asked him about his interest in reading it. He spoke to me as though he were a college professor lecturing on life. He went on to compare the Bible a book he had read. The way he saw the connections between the two were profound.

As I sat there soaking in all his words, I couldn’t help but be thankful that my students have different perspectives; they have truly taught me to look with an open mind and heart at life.

It seems as though the teacher has become the student.

See More Slices at Two Writing Teachers

See More Slices at Two Writing Teachers

Comments on: "Teachers" (3)

  1. It takes a special teacher to be open to what her students teach her.

  2. You understand what it makes to be a good teacher….and a good person.

  3. Ditto to what Carrie said.

    AND, it takes a very special teacher to be willing to have a conference about the Bible with a student. Some teachers would pull up and ask, “Is that a just-right book?” It sounds like you handled this conference perfectly.

Leave a Reply

